MuvEnum Forums

Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » MuvEnum Address Bar » Support




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Sun May 11, 2008 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 5
When domains use a redirect, the address bar is throwing an error that the domain was not found.

For example, I type gmail.com in the MuvEnum Address Bar and get an error saying it couldn't be found.

This is because gmail.com is really mail.google.com.

I've shown this behavior with other domains as well that do things like this.

It only works when I start without a browser open.

Thanks!


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 1:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:24 am
Posts: 1108
I just tested putting in gmail.com into the browser and it opened fine. Can you try it again now to verify? It should always open the browser even if the domain is not found because the address bar doesn't test to see if the domain exists, it only opens the browser with entered address and then the browser gives you a message if it can't find it.

Thanks,

_________________
John
MuvEnum

Resources: Manuals, FAQs, Forums, Blog


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 5
I can reproduce this at all times.

I have no browser open (FF 2.0 is my default) and then I type in gmail.com and get the attached result.

The error message points to Muvenum's address bar (see the title)... it only happens on domains that have a redirect on them.

If I type in the correct domain http://mail.google.com/mail it works without issue.

ck


Attachments:
WindowClipping (2).png
WindowClipping (2).png [ 27.92 KiB | Viewed 22748 times ]
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 3:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:24 am
Posts: 1108
I can't seem to reproduce this on my machine with the setup you described. Can you click on the little dot (the about/options button) and tell me what version of the MuvEnum Address Bar you are using?

Thanks,

_________________
John
MuvEnum

Resources: Manuals, FAQs, Forums, Blog


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 6:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 5
1.3.1.0, latest version according to the 'check for updates' button.

Willing to help you out in debugging this... assume its written in .net, I'm a .net developer. So I could debug if needed (would need some code obviously....). No issues signing an nda if needed.

- ck


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Wed May 14, 2008 6:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 5
Just a reply so I'm notified when you reply.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Thu May 15, 2008 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:13 pm
Posts: 5
FYI, found this fix for my issue.

So not unrelated to your product:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Windows_error ... _-_Firefox


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Domain not found error.
 Post Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 2:17 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:24 am
Posts: 1108
Thanks for the update.

_________________
John
MuvEnum

Resources: Manuals, FAQs, Forums, Blog


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » MuvEnum Address Bar » Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron