MuvEnum Forums

Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » MuvEnum Address Bar » Support




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Environment variables don't work..
 Post Posted: Thu May 15, 2008 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:08 am
Posts: 3
Good work - I like the address bar! I have one small problem with it though - environment variables don't work - they used to work in the Windows Address Bar.

For example - the following don't work properly

Command: %TEMP%
Should: Open the Temporary Items folder
Does: "Windows cannot find 'http://%TEMP%'. Check the spelling and try again."

Command: explorer.exe %TEMP%
Should: Open the Temporary Items folder
Does: Windows Explorer "The path '%TEMP%' does not exist or is not a directory."

This also fails if you use it as part of a path i.e.:

Command: %SYSTEMROOT%\notepad.exe
Should: Run notepad
Does: "Windows cannot find 'http://%SYSTEMROOT%\notepad.exe'. Check the spelling and try again."

Please note that you can set any old environment variable and reference it with %NAME%, so please don't hardcode this for %TEMP% and %SYSTEMROOT%.

Thanks,
N


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Environment variables don't work..
 Post Posted: Thu May 15, 2008 4:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:24 am
Posts: 1108
Nuggetero,

I should be able to add support for this over the weekend. Thanks for the detailed explanation.

_________________
John
MuvEnum

Resources: Manuals, FAQs, Forums, Blog


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Environment variables don't work..
 Post Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 9:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:08 am
Posts: 3
Great, thanks very much for the quick response and for providing such a useful bit of software.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Environment variables don't work..
 Post Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 2:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:24 am
Posts: 1108
Support for environment variables has been added, however, I have a few things left I'd like to implement before the next release. This means that it could be another week before the release is ready.

Thanks for your support,

_________________
John
MuvEnum

Resources: Manuals, FAQs, Forums, Blog


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Environment variables don't work..
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 8:08 am
Posts: 3
Hi, yep these certainly seem to be working nicely in 2.1.0.0 (although I couldn't install the Beta - it would never appear).

Thanks,
N


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » MuvEnum Address Bar » Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron